Is Quantum Physics an Abstraction?

Foundations of physics and/or philosophy of physics, and in particular, posts on unresolved or controversial issues

Is Quantum Physics an Abstraction?

Postby RArvay » Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:33 am

Not being a physicist, I restrict my comments to the layman perspective.

Physics does not explain physical reality. It seeks to explain our perceptions of physical reality so that we can make sense of it. Its byproduct and validation is technology, an affirmation that we are indeed making practical sense of nature.

In recent decades, however, especially with the advent of quantum physics, the explanations have become so abstract that they are difficult to convey in a manner that all physicists can agree upon, much less be understood by non-physicists. Yet, technology and experimentation seem to continue to support the mainstream theories, albeit with some fudging at times.

It has been noted by greater minds than my own that physics is so completely reliant on mathematics that one premier physicist (I think it is Max Tegmark) claims that mathematics not only rules reality, but that it is in fact reality itself.

Mathematics is, however, almost purely abstract. Numbers count and measure things, but the concept of the number is itself an abstraction—a very necessary and useful one to be sure, but how far can abstractions go before they are challenged by physical reality? Is physics building an elaborate and elegant house of cards?

A simple example will illustrate the point. Suppose a concrete workman is instructed to pour a square platform with an area of twenty-five square feet, and a volume of twenty-five cubic feet. Simple mathematics will dictate that the dimensions of the platform be five by five by one foot. There is, however, another mathematically valid answer, and that is that the platform measure negative five feet, by negative five feet, by positive one foot, producing the same result.